CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug Reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Limitations of ICD2 with CCS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gabriel Caffese



Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Location: LA PLATA, ARGENTINA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger

Limitations of ICD2 with CCS
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:06 am     Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

Is there any limitation in debugging CCS code, using ICD2 from Microchip ?

Thanks,
Gabriel.-
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20564

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:11 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there any limitation in debugging CCS code, using ICD2 from Microchip ?

http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18328&highlight=icd2+breakpoints
Gabriel Caffese



Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Location: LA PLATA, ARGENTINA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger

Explaining a bit more.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:10 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks PCM for replying.

I need to run the ICD for using an 16F88.
And what would like to know, if with both ICD's I will be able to watch variables, RAM, ROM, etc, when the program runs.
Also, donīt know if Microchip's and CCS's already come with a 18pin adapter included.

I would apreciate any information.

Gabriel Caffese.-
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20564

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 3:14 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
I need to run the ICD for using an 16F88.
And what would like to know, if with both ICD's I will be able to watch variables, RAM, ROM, etc, when the program runs.

Microchip has a list of the devices supported by ICD2, here:
http://www.microchip.com/1010/pline/tools/picmicro/icds/icd2/detailed/index.htm
However, I don't think that list is current, because in MPLAB vs. 6.42,
in the ICD2 Help window, it says 16F87/16F88 are supported by ICD2.

CCS also has a page where they list devices supported by their ICD:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/icddevices.shtml
It doesn't list 16F88, but maybe their list is also out-of-date ?
You should email CCS and ask them about it.

Quote:
Also, donīt know if Microchip's and CCS's already come with a 18pin adapter included.

We bought two of the Microchip ICD2 units. They don't come with
any adapter.

I'm not sure why you want a 18-pin adapter. Normally (at least for me)
the ICD2 is used for "in circuit" debugging or programming.
You directly connect the ICD2 to your printed circuit board. You can
do this by putting a 6-pin modular jack on your board, such as Digikey
p/n A9031 (AMP 555165-1), which looks like this:
http://catalog.tycoelectronics.com/TE/common/images/PartImages/2619007b.jpg
or you can put a 6x1 header on your board and make a cable adapter
for the ICD2. I did this. See below.
---------------------
The ICD2 comes with a 6-pin modular cable, about 40 cm long.
It looks something like this:
http://qcpusa.com/tdv-modular-cable.html
I bought an adapter from Digikey, to convert the 6-pin modular
connector to a DB-9. Here's a photo:
http://rocky.digikey.com/WebLib/CUI%20Inc/Web%20Photo/AMK-0003.jpg
It's Digikey p/n 046-0003. http://www.digikey.com/
Then I built a short adapter cable to convert between the DB-9 connector
and a 6-pin Molex connector. (Digikey p/n WM2004) Photo:
http://rocky.digikey.com/WebLib/Molex/Web%20Photos/22-01-3067.jpg
Then, on your test board, you can put in a mating Molex connector
(Digikey p/n WM4204). Photo:
http://rocky.digikey.com/WebLib/Molex/Web%20Photos/22-23-2061.jpg
On your production boards, you don't install that connector.
You take a 6-pin piece of ordinary break-away header and insert it
into the Molex header. Then you push it into the 6 holes on your
circuit board and press it on the side. This allows it to make contact
with your board while you are programming it with MPLAB and the ICD2.
Photo of break-away header:
http://catalog.tycoelectronics.com/TE/common/images/PartImages/1055044a.gif
-----------------------------------------------------
I don't own the CCS ICD, so I don't know if it comes with any adapters.

--------
Edited on 5-3-04 to change a Digikey p/n to the correct one: A9031


Last edited by PCM programmer on Mon May 03, 2004 11:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Gabriel Caffese



Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Location: LA PLATA, ARGENTINA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger

Thanks a lot !! but......
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 2:19 pm     Reply with quote

PCM,

Thanks a lot for this information.
As seen from the connections from the ICD2 to the circuit, you connect via 6 pins to the target board, in wich YOU HAVE NOT TO TAKE OUT THE PIC MICRO FROM THE BOARD, isn't it ?
Two of the ICD2 pins that are used are PGM and PGD, wich go directly to T1OSI and T1OSO. So, I wonīt be able to use TIMER1 via an external 32,768 cristal when using the ICD2, isnīt it ?

Well PCM, this is the last question I will ask about this. Thank you very much, and hope not to bother.

Gabriel.-
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20564

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 12:02 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
Two of the ICD2 pins that are used are PGM and PGD, wich go
directly to T1OSI and T1OSO. So, I wonīt be able to use TIMER1 via an
external 32,768 crystal when using the ICD2, isnīt it ?

That's true. The ICD2 uses those two pins during debugging.
Gabriel Caffese



Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Location: LA PLATA, ARGENTINA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger

OK
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 1:28 pm     Reply with quote

PCM,

Thank you very much for answering these questions.

Gabriel.-
blak3r



Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 45

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:56 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks again for the part numbers PCM. I just went and found all the parts using your instructions. Here is a summary of all the parts and i also added the crimper and the pins that you need and price info.

Index Quantity Part Number Description Unit Price Total
Connector which gets crimped:
1 10 WM2004-ND CONN HOUS 6POS .100 W/RAMP/RIB 0.46600 $4.66

Pins for Above:
2 30 WM1114-ND CONN TERM FEMALE 22-30AWG TIN 0.07400 $2.22

PCB Connector (First one is straight, the second is Right Angle Mount):
3 10 WM4204-ND CONN HEADER 6POS .100 VERT TIN 0.58600 $5.86
4 10 WM4304-ND CONN HEADER 6POS .100 R/A TIN 0.93000 $9.30

Universal Crimper:
5 1 WM9999-ND TOOL CRIMP 14-24AWG UNIVERSAL 50.75000 $50.75
_________________
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler" -- Albert Einstein

http://www.blakerobertson.com
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20564

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:13 pm     Reply with quote

There are also little RJ11 to pin-header adapter boards available.
I don't have the link to that thread right now, but I know Mark
mentioned them on the thread, and I also found links to commercially
available adapters. Maybe I can search for that thread tomorrow.
The method you're proposing to use may be the best for your
application, but I want to make you aware of all options.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20564

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:16 pm     Reply with quote

Here's the thread where I posted four links to companies
that sell ICD2 adapters that convert from the RJ11 to a 10-pin
header connector.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20828

I use the 6-pin header that I described in my post earlier
in this thread, but I wanted to let you know about the other adapters.
gpsmikey



Joined: 16 Nov 2010
Posts: 588
Location: Kirkland, WA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:02 am     Reply with quote

For anybody that ends up viewing this thread, it looks like the Digikey A9031 part listed above has been replaced by the ROHS compliant part A31422-ND (which is also listed as a 5555165-1 (one more "5" than the part listed in the above posts)). They show it as $0.93 each or $0.81 each for 10 pcs as of 28-Dec-2012).

mikey
_________________
mikey
-- you can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !
old engineering saying: 1+1 = 3 for sufficiently large values of 1 or small values of 3
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group