CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

WiFi

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
georpo



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Location: Athens, Greece.

View user's profile Send private message

WiFi
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 6:02 am     Reply with quote

Hello to all.

I need a WiFi module for a custom remote switch.

I know all about esp8266 and I tried all methods below, but:
1) AT-command method is not for complex things.
2) Espressif SDK is not so well documented...
3) NODEMCU hangs anytime it wants and lucks of features.
4) Arduino seems like the best solid approach but I hate it. I am a PIC guy.

So, is there any CCS supported Wifi solution? Embedded or module?

Thanks!
_________________
George.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9108
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:18 am     Reply with quote

Well I'm confused...
you say 'custom remote switch' then say 'AT commands' won't work ??

To me a switch is on or off, '1' or '0', so AT cmds should be fine.....read a byte,send a byte.

I did some Zigbee stuff years ago and the ESP8266 seem 'similar'...though I prefer hardwired communications.
I do have some 'wireless serial modems' here ,have to find them, good for about 1km in open air. Had a PIC at both ends,so I was in control of the code !

You should explain more about what you need in data and distance.
All wireless devices need a BIG power supply as they use a lot of power, for a short time( transmitting). If the PSU drops, then communications can be lost or corrupted. Ther's a lot of overhead for a small payload with wireless too.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19221

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:25 am     Reply with quote

and in fact there are a hell of a lot of 'complex things' done using AT
commands. The WiFi your computer is using is 99% likely to be using
a modem that actually uses AT commands....
In fact the default Arduino handling is with the esp8266 and AT commands...
georpo



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Location: Athens, Greece.

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 11:24 pm     Reply with quote

I say "a remote switch" to spare you from the details.
The question is generic and the wifi module could be used for anything.

Using AT commands is an option but I also prefer hard wired. I would like to write values to registers and get values back with SPI.
Using AT, needs much code to parse the incoming data, split the ASCII part from the actual data etc. It even makes it complex to just connect to an AP.
I know how to do this but it would be my last option.

As for arduino, I do not think it uses AT commands. It has functions for everything and it flashes the esp8266 with your compiled code using bootloader. So, no AT commands. When I say arduino of course I mean writing code FOR the ESP8266 not for external microcontroller and send to esp8266 with AT.

The application is lighting.
I am making some wireless controlled lights. Any of them can be used as a server or as a client by setting from the menu (oled and encoder).
up to 3 lights and an android app connect to the server who deals with sending the data (dim level, color etc) to the rest lights.

I would like to avoid AT commands for the above scenario...

Thanks for your input!!!
_________________
George.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19221

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:00 am     Reply with quote

Seriously you would not be using AT commands once the unit is online.

AT commands are only used to initialise and setup the connection. Once
established, you are no longer in 'command' mode, and you just talk to the
link as a connection. No AT commands involved.

You only use AT commands again when you want to stop the connection. You
then send the 'escape' sequence (normally delay, +++, delay), to switch
back to command mode, and then start using AT commands.
georpo



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Location: Athens, Greece.

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:23 am     Reply with quote

Yes I know what you mean, this is transparent mode and I have tried it.
It works very nice. But it is only for single connection. Not multiple.
And in my scenario the "server" must talk to multiple devices.
So, AT commands must be used for all transactions.
_________________
George.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19221

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:39 am     Reply with quote

You would normally use STAtion mode, and connect to an existing access
point. You then have a WiFi connection that can talk to your devices
on the same network, or on the Internet (if the AP has an internet
connection).
georpo



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Location: Athens, Greece.

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:45 am     Reply with quote

Yes you are right. But this system must be stand alone independent of access points. That is why any of the devices can be configured as soft AP.
_________________
George.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19221

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:40 am     Reply with quote

There are driver libraries for the Arduino, for about three different firmware
versions at least, including AT.
The ESP-01 Arduino firmware, still uses AT commands, it is just a rather
better version than the standard. Use it.
The documentation is here:
https://www.espressif.com/en/support/documents/technical-documents
Look for all the documents containing ESP8266.
The one "4a-esp8266_at_instruction_set_en.pdf" is the basic command
set description.
georpo



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Location: Athens, Greece.

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:44 am     Reply with quote

Ttelmah you are right. I have done my research and I know all this.
Finally I will have to work with AT commands I suppose.

Thanks guys for the precious help!
_________________
George.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group