CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Having trouble using an AD7829 with a PIC 18f8620

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Birdasaur



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Having trouble using an AD7829 with a PIC 18f8620
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 7:46 am     Reply with quote

Hey hey everybody!

Does anyone out there have any experience using the A/D device AD7829 with a PIC. This is my first time using an External A/D with a PIC, so go easy on me. I think I'm following the data sheet correctly but I can't seem to get any output from the A/D device.

Here's a little sample of the code I'm trying to use:

Code:


   while(TRUE)
   {
      //Power up the A/D
      output_high(CONVST);
      delay_us(1);
      output_low(CONVST);
      //Set the Address bits on the A/D for the ADC8 channel
      output_high(ADR2);
      output_high(ADR1);
      output_high(ADR0);
      output_low(CS); //Enable A/D Chip Select Line
      output_low(RD); //Enable the A/D Read (!RD) Line
      data = input_b(); //Read converted data byte
      output_high(RD); //Disable A/D Read (!RD) Line
      output_high(CS); //Disable A/D Chip Select Line

      printf("\b\b\b%03i",data); //output value
      delay_ms(250);  //wait a bit
   } //end of while(TRUE)


Is there anything GROSSLY wrong here? Question
Am I missing anything or are there any tips for troubleshooting? Question

I'm trying to use a battery based voltage on my selected channel for the analog input. If anyone has any information that could help jumpstart me I'd appreciate it. Mr. Green
rwyoung



Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 563
Location: Lawrence, KS USA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 8:33 am     Reply with quote

I'm assuming you are trying to run in "mode 1" where the CONVST- is not being used to both convert and power down.

A quick look at the data sheet tells me:

1) Select your input first.
Code:
//Set the Address bits on the A/D for the ADC8 channel
      output_high(ADR2);
      output_high(ADR1);
      output_high(ADR0);

Your code is selecting Vin8, by the way.

2) Pulse your CONVST- for at least t2 which is given as 20ns minimum. Depending on the clock speed you have chosen, you could probably use "delay_cycles" instead of "delay_us"

3) Watch for EOC- to go low, indicating conversion complete. This is a good use of the external interrupt pin. Or you can poll on the pin or you can delay 420ns (according to the datasheet).

4) Drop CS-

5) Drop RD-

6) Read data

7) Raise RD-

8) Raise CS-

9) Before you start another cycle, you should check that EOC- has gone high again before dropping CONVST- otherwise you will put the ADC into sleep mode.
_________________
Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month!
Birdasaur



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Good points that raise a few questions
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:26 am     Reply with quote

rwyoung wrote:
I'm assuming you are trying to run in "mode 1" where the CONVST- is not being used to both convert and power down.
That is correct.

rwyoung wrote:
1) Select your input first.
I made this change.

rwyoung wrote:

2) Pulse your CONVST- for at least t2 which is given as 20ns minimum. Depending on the clock speed you have chosen, you could probably use "delay_cycles" instead of "delay_us"
Will leaving this delay at 1 us have a negative effect Question

rwyoung wrote:
... you can delay 420ns (according to the datasheet).
Would it be possible that I delay too long and lose the data? In other words... is the data still going to be available after 1 us Question

rwyoung wrote:
6) Read data
Can I just use an input_x function or do I ABSOLUTELY have to use a port in PSP mode Question

Thanks for you input so far! I really appreciate it! Cool
rwyoung



Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 563
Location: Lawrence, KS USA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:49 am     Reply with quote

Conversion starts on the falling edge. Since the maximum conversion time is suppoed to be 420ns and the AD7829 has an automatic power downmode you are probably powering down the ADC with your long 1us delay.

The automatic powerdown occurs if CONVST- is still low after the conversion is complete (or might be 120ns after conversion is complete).

If you must have that 1us delay then you are probably going to need to bring the ADC out of power down before you can read the data. Again, I'm not exactly sure since I don't have one here to play with.

I'd suggest you get a scope hooked to your CONVST- signal and the EOC- signal and look at the timing relationship between them. [/quote]
_________________
Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group