CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug Reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Fatal simulation error!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PROMOD



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 40

View user's profile Send private message

Fatal simulation error!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:25 am     Reply with quote

After writing a program and building hex file when I attempt to test it in Proteus and run the following error shows-

"Fatal simulation error"

Could someone please explain the problem?

I am using Demo of CCS 8.6
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 6324
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:39 am     Reply with quote

read Sticky PIC101

get rid of Proteus( ISIS )

Proteus is a damaged program, it's busted, corrupted, flawed..

IT DON'T WORK
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 13758

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:44 am     Reply with quote

Also since the latest version of CCS, is 5.076, I wonder what environment you really are using...
PROMOD



Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 40

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:20 am     Reply with quote

temtronic wrote:
read Sticky PIC101

get rid of Proteus( ISIS )

Proteus is a damaged program, it's busted, corrupted, flawed..

IT DON'T WORK


Then what software can I use to check my coding that is done in CCS compiler?
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 13758

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:09 pm     Reply with quote

A PIC.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 6324
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:24 pm     Reply with quote

The key problem with 'simulators' is that unless you spend 10s of thousands of dollars on one, NONE will truly simulate the real WORLD.
Countless postings here on 'it works in Proteus, but NOT in the PIC'. It's in the 'little details' like Proteus NOT caring that you haven't got an xtal, or the wrong caps or even the wrong or missing VDD !
For less than $100 you can buy PICs, parts, breadboards, programmer and maybe an oscilloscope. These days you can cut code, compile, burn and test in less than 15 minutes. That's how long it took to erase the first PICs, 20+ years ago !
When I consider my first 'personal computer' cost me just over $10,000, $100 to get into PICs is well, a dream !!!

Jay
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20420

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:26 pm     Reply with quote

temtronic,
I suspect a lot of these people come from countries where they don't have $100.
Or at least, they don't have it to spend on PICs.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 13758

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:41 pm     Reply with quote

Of course if the Proteus was legitimate this would rather obviate this argument, but presumably it (and probably CCS as well), have come from other sources....
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 6324
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:27 pm     Reply with quote

I just checked the Proteus website...curious..as there's been a lot of action recently here. A PIC Bundle to do 12, 16 and 18 series is $1000 ! AND there's a LOT of 'limitations' ( it doesn't simulate a full PIC). Even a single series pkg is $500. And the trio (3 PICs) version is $250.
It seems to me a serious hobbiest should invest in real PICs and parts, far cheaper than the 'fantasy world' of a poorly written simulator.

Jay
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 13758

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:42 am     Reply with quote

One thing that will give ''Fatal simulation error' in Proteus is the simple one of the chip family not being licensed.....
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group