CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug Reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darren Logan
Guest







MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2003 9:13 am     Reply with quote

Hello there,

Can i use older versions of PCM/PCB (e.g. version 3.08x) with the latest version of MPLAB (V6) ?

If so, how do you install PCM/PCB into MPLAB ??

Thank you !

Regards,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10852
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20262

View user's profile Send private message

Re: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:17 pm     Reply with quote

:=Hello there,
:=
:=Can i use older versions of PCM/PCB (e.g. version 3.08x) with the latest version of MPLAB (V6) ?
:=
:=If so, how do you install PCM/PCB into MPLAB ??
-------------------------------------------------------

According to Microchip, they only support Hi-Tech at the
moment. See the link below.
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10865
TSchultz



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Toronto, Canada

View user's profile Send private message

RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 5:40 am     Reply with quote

:=Hello there,
:=
:=Can i use older versions of PCM/PCB (e.g. version 3.08x) with the latest version of MPLAB (V6) ?
:=
:=If so, how do you install PCM/PCB into MPLAB ??
:=
:=Thank you !
:=
:=Regards,
:=Darren

If you check the download page on this site, CCS has a plug-in for MPLAB 6 that will add support for the CCS compiler. I did not see much in the way of information of what versions are supported.

For a couple of weeks now I have been using the plug-in with PCWH versions 1.29 to 1.34 and have had quite good success. I needed it for support for the Microchip ICD2 for a project I had to switch over to a PIC18F452. I have however been unable to run that letest V1.36 compiler version at all as I get an access violation, but this does not seem to be a MPLAB problem as I see the same thing with the PCW IDE and also if I call the compiler from the command line.

Keep in mind that MPLAB 6 not yet complete and that the CCS compiler is still very much a work in progress however.

-Troy
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10886
darren logan
Guest







Re: RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:02 pm     Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.

I've downloaded and installed the plug-in. Im using PCM 3.081 and PIC16F870.

Im having problems compiling. Firstly, the build reports it does not recognise compile option 'M', so I took this out of the command line solving this problem.
Secondly, the build reports I need a #DEVICE at the beginning of a .c file (not my main .c file).
If I add the #DEVICE PICxxxx build then reports the next line is missing a ; or , !!!

The 2nd #DEVICE shouldn't need to go in there as it is at the top of the PIC16F870.h file. Why build asks for it lord knows.

Any ideas ????

Regards,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10904
darren logan
Guest







Re: RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:03 pm     Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.

I've downloaded and installed the plug-in. Im using PCM 3.081 and PIC16F870.

Im having problems compiling. Firstly, the build reports it does not recognise compile option 'M', so I took this out of the command line solving this problem.
Secondly, the build reports I need a #DEVICE at the beginning of a .c file (not my main .c file).
If I add the #DEVICE PICxxxx build then reports the next line is missing a ; or , !!!

The 2nd #DEVICE shouldn't need to go in there as it is at the top of the PIC16F870.h file. Why build asks for it lord knows.

Any ideas ????

Regards,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10907
TSchultz



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Toronto, Canada

View user's profile Send private message

RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:49 pm     Reply with quote

:=Hello,
:=
:=Thanks for your reply.
:=
:=I've downloaded and installed the plug-in. Im using PCM 3.081 and PIC16F870.
:=
:=Im having problems compiling. Firstly, the build reports it does not recognise compile option 'M', so I took this out of the command line solving this problem.
:=Secondly, the build reports I need a #DEVICE at the beginning of a .c file (not my main .c file).
:=If I add the #DEVICE PICxxxx build then reports the next line is missing a ; or , !!!
:=
:=The 2nd #DEVICE shouldn't need to go in there as it is at the top of the PIC16F870.h file. Why build asks for it lord knows.
:=
:=Any ideas ????
:=
:=Regards,
:=Darren

The +M command line switch I think is for the generation of a symbol table, -M is documented as turning this off in the newer documentation.

I also found that you need to make sure you only have the main.c file in the "Source Files" section. If you add all the files then MPLAB wants to invoke the compiler for each file, this is not how the CCS compiler works.

I also found that I had to manual set the path for the complier, "Project" "Set Language Tool Locations". It had the right location but things didn't work well until I did that.

Isn't it nice to use software before it is offically finished amd has documented bugs?

I have not done much debugging with it, my project was mostly debugged with the PIC16F877 for which I was using an ICE. I used the MPLAB 6 mostly for compile and in-circuit programming via the ICD2 using the USB interface which worked very well.

I was using PCWH versions 3.129 to 3.134.

Hope this helps.
-Troy
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10910
Darren Logan
Guest







Re: RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 7:05 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks all for your replies.

Most useful.

Regrads,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10963
Darren Logan
Guest







Re: RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 7:05 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks all for your replies.

Most useful.

Regards,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10964
Darren Logan
Guest







Re: RE: MPLAB V6 and old PCM/PCB
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 7:06 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks all for your replies.

Most useful.

Regards,
Darren
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 10965
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group