CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Debugging with MPLAB6.3 and ICD2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hhoebel
Guest







Debugging with MPLAB6.3 and ICD2
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2003 9:36 am     Reply with quote

I'm wondering how i can debug a project using more than one source-file. I've using a project with several files which i all include in the main-souce-file due to that missing linker.
My problem is that MPLAB can't set breakpoints in the source-code of the included files. I get always a "breakpoint can't be resolved". Any idea how i can get around this?

regards,

Heiko Hoebel
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516101
Guest








PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:41 pm     Reply with quote

I have the same problem. Can't resolve breakpoints. I have PCWH 3.174 and MPLAB 6.3. I have sometimes been able to set breakpoints but usually not. I can't figure out what the sequence was that made it work. It's very frustrating to continue to have these problems considering how long both CCS and MPLAB have been around.
Daniel R Page
Guest







Breakpoint problem
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:20 pm     Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
I have the same problem. Can't resolve breakpoints. I have PCWH 3.174 and MPLAB 6.3. I have sometimes been able to set breakpoints but usually not. I can't figure out what the sequence was that made it work. It's very frustrating to continue to have these problems considering how long both CCS and MPLAB have been around.


I have the same problem too. Just sent an email to CCS support. Did you guys find an answer?

Sad
tobyboreham



Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 3:43 am     Reply with quote

I have also got this problem, and have emailed CCS support!
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:02 am     Reply with quote

tobyboreham wrote:
I have also got this problem, and have emailed CCS support!

I think I have the solution.

I changed the output file format of the compiler from COFF to Enhanced COD and everything seems to work now!

I am still waiting for a reply from CCS.
tobyboreham



Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2003 4:49 pm     Reply with quote

I may have figured this out...

From the PICC workspace, open your main source file, then select tools->MPLAB

Open the new MPLAB project file that appears on your source directory.

Go to Project->Build Options->

Select the main c source file (not the global project setting)

Select list file as normal CCS, debug file as COFF. Press OK.

Make sure that compile for use with ICD debugger is checked.

It should now be able to resolve the breakpoints.
ProgGuy



Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:48 pm     Reply with quote

I used the same settings as tobyboreham and was still having trouble.

I kept his settings and instead of doing a "build all" in MPLAB i right clicked on my main program file in the project tree and chose compile. Now it's setting breakpoints in any file I include from my main file. Using "build all" which has the same command line as compile Question never works for me.. Could anybody else verify this?
Guest








PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 3:52 pm     Reply with quote

I had this reply from CCS tech support:

"We have confirmed that the coff file is correct and it is an MPLAB IDE issue that the breakpoints are not validated and allowed on all source lines. You would need to contact Microchip about it.

Thanks CCS Tech Support"
karth



Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

i had the same problem
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 8:22 pm     Reply with quote

this works for me:
set a break point on the main source file that calls a function from the include source file.

once it halt at that break point press F7 (single step)

now the pointer will be on the include source file then set the break point any where within that file
MarkD



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Toronto, Canada

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 9:23 am     Reply with quote

I called Microchip support about this problem. They told me to use the use the disassembly window (VIEW-> disassembly) and set breakpoint there. This works very well. Also, I switched to MPLAB 6.31 which is much better than 6.30.

Mark
Guest








PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 9:24 am     Reply with quote

Debugger -> COFF file has made the trick for me

until then the disassembly window just showed spurious ASM code and I was not able to trace the code but in the program window.

half day wasted, I've been lucky. Thanks for the input.
adam



Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:09 pm     Reply with quote

Experienced the problem of breakpoints refusing to work at all in MPLAB. Discovered that there seems to be a path length issue. I'd previously discovered this with MPLAB anyway, but using CCS seems to be be tighter. Moved the project directory higher up the drive and breakpoints started working.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group