CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Using bootloaders

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kgng97ccs

Using bootloaders
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2023 4:51 am     Reply with quote

I am using the PIC18LF46K22 MCU, MPLAB IDE v8.92, and CCS C compiler v5.113.

I am new to bootloaders, and I am trying to understand what a bootloader can do in comparison with what I can do in MPLAB IDE v8.92.

Now, I understand that if wish to be able to program the MCU in a finished product without opening the casing to access the programming connector on the PCBA, I can use a bootloader to do the programming through a serial port (a hardware or software UART).

I have tried the option of generating bootloader code using the project wizard in the CCS IDE.

Questions:

1. With MPLAB IDE (v8.92), I can compile a program, set the EEPROM table, and then load the hex file and EEPROM data (or an MCH file) into the MCU memory.

Question:
As there are normally two files that need to be programmed into the MCU – the hex file and MCH file, does a bootloader work in such a way that we have to load one file after the other, or is it that we have to combine both into one single hex file first and then load the combined file?

2. With MPLAB IDE, I can also read the MCU memory and export the hex file, with or without the EEPROM data embedded, and export (save) the EEPROM data into an MCH file.

Question:
Can a bootloader be set to do the same thing, that is, read back the contents of the MCU memory and then export them?