CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Timer 2 on PIC16F15325

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Momboz



Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Timer 2 on PIC16F15325
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 4:43 am     Reply with quote

Hi

I would like to use timer 2 on my PIC16F15325 and start it immediately.
With following code I can't succeed in this. I can't get any signal on my scope on PIN_A1.

I would like a free running mode, i.e. started immediately and not hardware controlled.

Code:
#include <CCS_15325_Pulses_3.h>

#define LED PIN_A0
#define TST PIN_A1
#define DELAY 500

#INT_TIMER2
void  TIMER2_isr(void) {
  output_toggle(TST);
}

void main() {
  setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,0,1|T2_START_IMMEDIATELY);    //0.1 us overflow, 0.1 us interrupt

  enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);
  enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
 
  while(TRUE) {

    //Example blinking LED program
    output_low(LED);
    delay_ms(DELAY);
    output_high(LED);
    delay_ms(DELAY);

    //TODO: User Code
  }

}


Any advice? any help?

Many thanks.
emaxxenon



Joined: 21 Jan 2020
Posts: 42

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:47 am     Reply with quote

Where did you make your oscillator settings?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

Re: Timer 2 on PIC16F15325
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:56 am     Reply with quote

Momboz wrote:

setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1, 0, 1|T2_START_IMMEDIATELY);

You're missing the clock source constant. Look in 16F15325.h in the
Timer 2 section. You most likely want the internal clock.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9136
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 6:30 am     Reply with quote

this file.....CCS_15325_Pulses_3.h

we have NO idea what's in it, could easily have incorrect settings

you should always have the CCS supplied processor header as 1st line of code. at least that we KNOW what is in it.Well, should be...
Momboz



Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 6:46 am     Reply with quote

emaxxenon wrote:
Where did you make your oscillator settings?


I did the clock settings when defining my device. And it is like this: Internal clock at 32MHz.

This is the first windows when using the CCS PIC Wizard.
Momboz



Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Re: Timer 2 on PIC16F15325
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 6:49 am     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
Momboz wrote:

setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1, 0, 1|T2_START_IMMEDIATELY);

You're missing the clock source constant. Look in 16F15325.h in the
Timer 2 section. You most likely want the internal clock.


When I add the T2_CLK_INTERNAL, like this:

Code:
void main() {
  setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,0,1|T2_CLK_INTERNAL);    //0.1 us overflow, 0.1 us interrupt

  enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);


I get compiler error:

*** Error 103 "CCS_15325_Pulses_3.c" Line 15(33,49): Constant out of the valid range :: 257 is not 1..16
Momboz



Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 6:51 am     Reply with quote

temtronic wrote:
this file.....CCS_15325_Pulses_3.h

we have NO idea what's in it, could easily have incorrect settings

you should always have the CCS supplied processor header as 1st line of code. at least that we KNOW what is in it.Well, should be...


Here is the content of the that file:
Code:
#include <16F15325.h>
#device ADC=10
#use delay(internal=32MHz)
#use rs232(baud=57600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C4,rcv=PIN_C5,bits=8,stream=PORT1)
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

Re: Timer 2 on PIC16F15325
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:03 am     Reply with quote

Momboz wrote:

When I add the T2_CLK_INTERNAL, like this:

setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,0,1|T2_CLK_INTERNAL);

I get compiler error:

*** Error 103 "CCS_15325_Pulses_3.c" Line 15(33,49): Constant out of the valid range :: 257 is not 1..16

Read the instructions in the .h file !
It says:
Quote:

void setup_timer_2(int32 mode, int8 period, int8 postscaler);

#define T2_DISABLED 0
#define T2_DIV_BY_1 0x80
#define T2_DIV_BY_2 0x90
#define T2_DIV_BY_4 0xA0
#define T2_DIV_BY_8 0xB0
#define T2_DIV_BY_16 0xC0
#define T2_DIV_BY_32 0xD0
#define T2_DIV_BY_64 0xE0
#define T2_DIV_BY_128 0xF0
//One of the following may be OR'ed with the above
#define T2_CLK_T2IN 0
#define T2_CLK_INTERNAL 0x0100
#define T2_CLK_FOSC 0x0200
#define T2_CLK_HFINTRC 0x0300
#d

It does not say to OR it with the last parameter. It says the first one.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9136
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:35 am     Reply with quote

thanks for posting the header contents.
Honestly it'd be better to just have those 4 lines IN your program. Sooner AND later , you'll cut a program and it doesn't work.. spend 3-4 hours on it , ONLY to discover you had changed something in that header.....and of course forgot you'd done that !
IE. Right now I KNOW that when you use THAT header in a program that gets data from a PC terminal program or other RS232 device, the program WILL lockup, freeze,stall, stop dead.
Momboz



Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Re: Timer 2 on PIC16F15325
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:51 am     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:

void setup_timer_2(int32 mode, int8 period, int8 postscaler);

#define T2_DISABLED 0
#define T2_DIV_BY_1 0x80
#define T2_DIV_BY_2 0x90
#define T2_DIV_BY_4 0xA0
#define T2_DIV_BY_8 0xB0
#define T2_DIV_BY_16 0xC0
#define T2_DIV_BY_32 0xD0
#define T2_DIV_BY_64 0xE0
#define T2_DIV_BY_128 0xF0
//One of the following may be OR'ed with the above
#define T2_CLK_T2IN 0
#define T2_CLK_INTERNAL 0x0100
#define T2_CLK_FOSC 0x0200
#define T2_CLK_HFINTRC 0x0300
It does not say to OR it with the last parameter. It says the first one.


Many thanks for your help. Yes, I did miss this point although clearly described in controller documentation.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group