CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

need pic16f676 based voltmeter code
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

need pic16f676 based voltmeter code
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:39 am     Reply with quote

sir i need a pic16f676 based 7 segment voltmeter code
my hardware is this

Code:
                       
                       vdd   | 1  14 |  Vss
      (0)1ST_DISPLY--> RA5   | 2  13 |  AN0 <-- ADC SENCE (I)
      (O)  SEG_(G) <-- RA4   | 3  12 |  AN1 --> 3RD_DISPLY (0)
               N\C    MCLR   | 4  11 |  RA2 --> 2ND_DISPLY (0)
      (O)  SEG_(F) <-- RC5   | 5  10 |  RC0 --> SEG_(A) (O)
      (O)  SEG_(E) <-- RC4   | 6   9 |  RC1 --> SEG_(B) (O)
      (O)  SEG_(D) <-- RC3   | 7   8 |  RC2 --> SEG_(C) (O)
                             ---------

7SEG CC LT543
VALUE 0 TO 500v OR ABOVE
please help me sir
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:33 am     Reply with quote

If you use the 'search' feature of this forum,you'll find many 'threads' about your school project.

When you go to test it, be EXTREMELY careful ! 500V DC WILL KILL YOU !

I suggest you break the project into several smaller steps....

1) get PIC to run a '1Hz LED' program

2) configure PIC with LEDs and test each segment/display

3) code for a 0-9 sequence on the display

4) code for a 000-999 sequence for the display

5)code for 0-5 VDC into the ADC

6) code for 00-50 VDC for the display

I would NOT attempt a higher voltage unless you read and understand how and why it's critical to use proper layout of PCB, correct component values, etc.

HTH
JAY
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:54 am     Reply with quote

sir i need 0 to 500v ac not dc
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:20 am     Reply with quote

OK.. NOW you'll need to design/build a precision AC to DC converter. Design specs are naturally based on frequency( I'm assuming 50Hz ?). Be sure to add proper protective devices in this 'analog front end'. If you don't best case...you fry the PIC, worst case, you get killed. 500 volts AC or DC is LETHAL.

You might consult any number of DVMs available on the market to see what they do.

I cannot suggest a 'real' circuit due to legal implications.

Jay
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:29 am     Reply with quote

Sir I have hardware. I need only sample code. I convert 500v ac to 5v dc for adc
Mike Walne



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1785
Location: Boston Spa UK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:58 am     Reply with quote

s0y wrote:
Sir I have hardware. I need only sample code. I convert 500v ac to 5v dc for adc
Do you mean that you already have your 0-500V AC input converted to a true, isolated 0-5V smooth DC signal?

Mike

EDIT. Please show us your circuit.
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:17 pm     Reply with quote

https://www.sendspace.com/file/dga93h
my adc circuit
please sir help me for code
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19195

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:01 am     Reply with quote

That is not remotely safe.

A single component failure, and you are dead.

Is the resistor rated for 500vac (remember this potentially means a DC rating over 700v)?. What happens if this fails?.
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:21 am     Reply with quote

harware is not my problem .i need sample ccs code for it ac voltmeter
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19195

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:34 am     Reply with quote

Seriously, hardware _is_ your problem.

If that circuit was used by a student, he would be sent back a year. If it was used in a piece of commercial kit, it would fail every test needed before sale instantly. That circuit as shown, is roughly as dangerous as an electric chair.

Using non isolated signals immediately means every component round the PIC needs to be double insulated. Display etc..

It is a really dangerous circuit.

On the code, you have already been told to search the forum, this type of question has been answered many times here.

Nobody is going to write the code for you, especially since doing so, they could be considers 'accessories', when you kill yourself, or even worse somebody else.
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:39 am     Reply with quote

sir here this circuit already using in this project commercially
my ac volt not 500 every time.
it is normally 0-250v
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:55 am     Reply with quote

That circuit is LETHAL !!!

DO NOT USE IT !!!

I cannot stress how important it is to NOT USE IT !!!

PICs are cheap, what is your LIFE worth ????

There is NO way that circuit is in ANY commercial product as it'd NOT pass even ONE of the safety codes on EITHER side of the pond.

It also is NOT a precision AC to DC converter. Even if you use it at MUCH lower voltages( <30 V AC), you'll have to have the PIC do a LOT of 'math' to get the 'numbers' right.

Jay
Mike Walne



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1785
Location: Boston Spa UK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:18 pm     Reply with quote

s0y wrote:
sir here this circuit already using in this project commercially
my ac volt not 500 every time.
it is normally 0-250v
You're not getting it.
Sort out a SAFE ac to dc converter, THEN you will get help.
There are now three of us saying the same thing.

Mike

PS Do NOT argue with either of the Mr T's
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 1:48 pm     Reply with quote

I suppose...
the good news is that since this is a Proteus/ISIS 'project', he really can't hurt himself with ISIS generated electrons...as they don't flow.
and...
the bad news is that since this is a Proteus/ISIS 'project', he really can't get it to work with ISIS ... as we all know ISIS is 'busted'.


Jay
s0y



Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:27 pm     Reply with quote

thanks
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group