CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Nokia 5110 lcd Problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
solracAnallero



Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Location: El Salvador

View user's profile Send private message

Nokia 5110 lcd Problem
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:51 pm     Reply with quote

I'm trying to use the Sparkfun Graphic LCD 84x48 - Nokia 5110 sku: LCD-10168 library to show data from a magnetometer approximately every second. It starts fine, but after some measurements the lcd stops showing data, sometimes it shows some random characters before stopping and some other times it just stops. I'm using pic18f4550 and the A ports to control the lcd. I took a look at the lcd code and it apparently works with whichever pin you choose. This is the code i use:
Code:

#include <18F4550.h>   
#include "math.h"
#include "HMC5883L.c"
#include "n5110.c"           
                                               
#fuses INTRC_IO, PROTECT, PUT, BROWNOUT ,CPD, NOWDT, NOFCMEN, NOMCLR, NOIESO
     
#use delay(internal = 4MHz)                               

int X,Y,Z;
 
void setup();                                 
                     
                                       
void main()
{                                                                                       
    float h = 0.0,cont=0.0;
   int16 head=0;
   set_tris_b(0xF3);
   set_tris_a(0x00);
   delay_ms(50);

    setup();
   nokia_init();
   delay_ms(10);
   nokia_gotoxy(0,0);
   nokia_init();
   delay_ms(10);
   printf(nokia_printchar,"INICIO...");

    while(TRUE)                                   
    {                           
      h = HMC5883L_heading();
     head=(int16)h;
     X=(int)X_axis;
     Y=(int)Y_axis;
     Z=(int)Z_axis;
     cont+=1;
      if(cont>=(2)){
         output_toggle(PIN_B2);
         cont=0;
       nokia_erase_x(1);
       nokia_erase_x(0);
       nokia_gotoxy(0,0);
       printf(nokia_printchar,"Heading = %f  ",h);
      
      }
      delay_ms(100);
    }                         
}                                     
 
                                       
void setup()                   
{                                                   
    setup_WDT(WDT_off);
    setup_oscillator(osc_4MHz);
    setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
    setup_adc(ADC_off);
    setup_adc_ports(no_analogs);   
    setup_timer_0(T0_internal | T0_8_BIT);       
    setup_timer_1(T1_disabled);   
    setup_timer_2(T2_disabled, 255, 1);
    port_B_pullups(FALSE);             
    set_RTCC(0);                   
    set_timer1(0);   
    set_timer1(0);   
    set_timer2(0);
    setup_CCP1(CCP_off);
    HMC5883L_init();
}

the lcd library description is this:
Code:

/*

-- Sparkfun Graphic LCD 84x48 - Nokia 5110 sku: LCD-10168
-- Adaptation of the original Nokia 3310 LCD header
-- CCS compiler


Special thanks to Michel Bavin 2004 (Original Author)--- bavin@skynet.be --- http://users.skynet.be/bk317494/ ---
august 29, 2004

*/
// x displays from 0 to 78 before displaying on a new line
// ex: nokia_gotoxy(78,1);nokia_print_leftarrow();
//
// ...
// nokia_init();
// ...
// nokia_gotoxy(0,0);
// printf(nokia_printchar,"test???");
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9134
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:56 pm     Reply with quote

hmmm...let me guess...

You've connected FIVE volt PIC to a 3 VOLT LCD unit directly without ANY logic level translation ??

If that's correct, then THAT is the problem.

Jay
solracAnallero



Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Location: El Salvador

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:22 pm     Reply with quote

Well i'm actually using an lm301 to reduce the supply voltage to 3.6v. I get exactly 3.44v, but the source i use is the one that's given by the Pickit 3. Would you think that is a hardware problem? Maybe some connection or that the lcd is not working properly rather than a software problem? I mean am i using the code as it is supposed to be used?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:20 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
i'm actually using an lm301 to reduce the supply voltage to 3.6v

LM301 is an Op-amp, not a voltage regulator.
http://www.utm.edu/staff/leeb/LM301.pdf
solracAnallero



Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Location: El Salvador

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:06 pm     Reply with quote

ammm.... sorry i thought it would do, i used that cause I didn't have a proper voltage regulator, so i just used it to reduce the source voltage for both the lcd and the compass. I think while the load doesn't consume too much current it would not be a problem, but maybe you are right, so i think the code its fine, and the problem is more likely a hardware problem. Thanks, and well i tried and now it works, i'll try with a regulator.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19255

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 2:23 am     Reply with quote

Just reducing the voltage for the external chips, doesn't make the circuit work.

It's like trying to use a crosspoint screwdriver to drive a flat screw. It is possible, but only by having a proper adapter bit.

The PIC will be putting out 5v logic signals which _will_ be overdriving the inputs to the display:

"VIH HIGH level input voltage 0.7VDD - VDD V"

Then you talk about '3.44v''. What does the data sheet say is the _maximum_ supply voltage?. :

"Logic supply voltage range VDD to VSS: 2.7 to 3.3 V"

So you are overvoltage before you start.....
solracAnallero



Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Location: El Salvador

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:40 am     Reply with quote

You are absolutelly right, thanks Ttelmah that was all the problem, all the pins use 5v too, i skipped that litle fact Shocked i changed the voltage supply for al the circuit, now it is working fine, poor lcd, im lucky its still working. Very Happy
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group