CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

need help regarding SPI ADC and PIC.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
zeeshan ahmed

need help regarding SPI ADC and PIC.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:36 am     Reply with quote

Hi all, I am new to CCS, I want help regarding interfacing and programming SPI ADC (MAX1416) . I am using pic18f252 micro. CCS version is 4.124

this is what i am doing to configure adc.

Code:
 #include <18f252.h>
#device icd=true
#fuses HS,NOLVP
#USE DELAY (CLOCK=20M)
#use rs232(baud=19200, xmit=PIN_c6, rcv=PIN_c7,parity=N)
//#use spi(Master, FORCE_HW)

void main(void)
{
   unsigned int16 data=0; unsigned int8 data1=0,data2=0;
   setup_spi (SPI_MASTER | SPI_CLK_DIV_64 | SPI_h_TO_l | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H);

while(true)
   {     

spi_write(0b00100000);  // com regs
      spi_write(0b10100101);  // clk regs

spi_write(0b00010000);  // com regs
      spi_write(0b00000100);  // setup regs

spi_write(0b00111000);  // com regs ,data register selected
      data1 = spi_read(0);
      data2 = spi_read(0);

data = make16(data2,data1);
      printf("data is %lu \r\n",data);
      delay_ms(500);

}

}

But this is not working at all. Confused Please guide me if i m doing wrong in this code.

My hardware connection are as follows.
pic SDI ----> ADC's D0ut
pic SDO ----> ADC's Din
pic sck ----> ADC's Sclk
pic RC2 ---> ADC's drdy

ADC's CS is tied to ground, Reset pin is pulled up.

MAX1416 data sheet : http://datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/MAX1415-MAX1416.pdf

Thank You and Best regards.
Ttelmah

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:26 am     Reply with quote

Start with your SPI setup.