CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Using data or calibration factors from eeprom ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gpsmikey



Joined: 16 Nov 2010
Posts: 588
Location: Kirkland, WA

View user's profile Send private message

Using data or calibration factors from eeprom ?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:30 pm     Reply with quote

Greetings - just wondering what the consensus was as to using data from eeprom
(on the chip) for calibration factors etc. Is it better to simply read the data from
the eeprom each time I need it or is it better at the start of main() to copy the
settings from eeprom into ram variables for use during the normal program (assume
I am not trying to save 10 bytes of RAM at this point ). Just curious what most
people do when they have their calibration factors stored in eeprom.
(18F14K22, compiler 4.114 )

mikey
_________________
mikey
-- you can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !
old engineering saying: 1+1 = 3 for sufficiently large values of 1 or small values of 3


Last edited by gpsmikey on Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19219

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:02 am     Reply with quote

For myself, read them into RAM.
Have a structure, containing all the configuration data, say something like:
Code:

struct config_data {
   int8 data_ok=0xAA;
   int16 wash_time=200;
   int16 adc_zero=40;
   int16 adc_full=984;;
   int16 output_4mA=166;
   int16 output_20mA=900;
}

Then on boot, you read the first byte from the EEPROM. If it is 0xAA, you can assume the data _has_ been written at some time in the past, and read the whole block. If not, then you write the default values (which are already in the example shown), and call the config routine...
When updating the config. you again just write the whole block, when you leave the config routine.
The example given is for a simple instrument, which washes at intervals, and otherwise, reads a value from the ADC, adjusting it to a scale based upon the 'zero', and 'full' points, performs a linearisation, and puts the result out on a 4-20mA interface.
Obviously you would use values to suit what you want to do.
If you want real reliability on the RAM, then maintain a checksum byte in the config. Check this at intervals, and if it has gone wrong, you can read the data back.
It is much more convenient in any particular subroutine, to be able to use the variables 'by name', and reduces the risk of errors from addressing the wrong thing....

Best Wishes
FFT



Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 92

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:49 am     Reply with quote

@Ttelmah,

Could you explain how do you write and read that struct into/from eeprom by code?

What about if the struct has some float variables?

Thanks.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19219

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:09 am     Reply with quote

I use generic 'block' read write routines:
Code:

#ifdef __PCH__
#bit GIE=0xFF2.7
#else
#bit GIE=0xB.7
#endif //No support for hardware interrupt priorities as written

//EPROM save/retrieve routines. Keep interrupts 'on', if enabled, for
//as much as possible
void EEPROM_GET(int *ptr,int num,int addr) {
   int count;
   int1 int_enabled;
   int_enabled=GIE;
   for (count=0;count<num;count++)
   {
      disable_interrupts(global);
      ptr[count]=READ_EEPROM(addr+count);
      if (int_enabled) enable_interrupts(global);
   }
}

void EEPROM_PUT(int *ptr,int num,int addr) {
   int count;
   int1 int_enabled;
   int_enabled=GIE;
   for (count=0;count<num;count++)
   {
      disable_interrupts(global);
      WRITE_EEPROM(addr+count,ptr[count]);
      if (int_enabled) enable_interrupts(global);
   }
}


Then to read the whole structure, from the bottom of the EEPROM

EEPROM_GET(&config_data,sizeof(config_data),0)

and EEPROM_PUT to write the structure.

Best Wishes
gpsmikey



Joined: 16 Nov 2010
Posts: 588
Location: Kirkland, WA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:22 am     Reply with quote

Thanks for the info and the examples. I'll follow your example and read the cal factors into RAM and use them there. That is a good idea with the checksum/CRC for the data to maintain validity of the data (also verifies the data in EEPROM if you have a checksum there).

Thanks for the help.

mikey
_________________
mikey
-- you can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !
old engineering saying: 1+1 = 3 for sufficiently large values of 1 or small values of 3
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19219

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:33 am     Reply with quote

and, as one final comment, float makes no difference. You just declare it as part of the structure, initialise it if you have a 'default' value, and it is handled the same as any other data type.

Best Wishes
FFT



Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 92

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:07 am     Reply with quote

Thanks so much for the idea.

if we want to read/write only the int16 output_4mA variable? Is there any trick for finding its address?
kender



Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 768
Location: Silicon Valley

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:05 pm     Reply with quote

There's is one potential inconvenience. Every time new firmware is downloaded into Flash, data EEPROM may be blanked. If you don't want the EEPROM to be blanked, change one setting in the CCS Device Programmer (CCSload). Settings -> Read, Write, Erase operations -> uncheck Data EEPROM.
_________________
Read the label, before opening a can of worms.
FFT



Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 92

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 2:34 pm     Reply with quote

@Ttelmah,
FFT wrote:
if we want to read/write only the int16 output_4mA variable? Is there any trick for finding its address?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 2:49 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there any trick for finding its address?

Download the CCS manual:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/downloads/ccs_c_manual.pdf
Look in this section:
Quote:

Built-in Functions

STANDARD
C MEMORY

Look for a function that will tell you the offset of an element in a structure.
Then write a test program, and test it.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group