CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

GLCD - S6B1713 chip

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

GLCD - S6B1713 chip
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:30 am     Reply with quote

Hello all,

I have recently managed to complete a 4 x20 line LCD project and I am now wanting to move onto a more challenging Graphical LCD project. I will be using a Bolymin 80x32 LCD
http://www.craftdata.co.uk/pdf/Bolymin_Graphic_LCD_2009.pdf (BO8032A, on second page)
It has this controller on board
http://www.crystalfontz.com/controllers/DS_S6B1713_R42.pdf
I have not done any GLCD before and would appreciate any help at all in getting the device working. Also what librarys can control this device (I had to change the LCD library to work with the 4x20 screen, so I can only assume that there will be some modification to get this working).

Thanks in advance

Kind Regards
SH
Guest








PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:01 pm     Reply with quote

Hi,

A quick Google search (you tried that , correct?) finds that your controller is compatible with the KS0713 controller which does have a driver supplied with the compiler by CCS.

That should get you going!

Charlie
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:09 pm     Reply with quote

Doing a Google search for this:
Quote:
KS0713 CCS

Gives this link with zipped source code:
http://www.techdesign.be/projects/042/042.htm
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:30 am     Reply with quote

Thanks for info. When I programmed the 16x4 line LCD I had to change the provided LCD code to enable the device to run in '4 line mode'. This was not a simple task to test. Is there likely to be anything that needs to be done to change from one controller, the KS0713 for example, to mine the S6B1713?

Also does anyone know how to send pictures to the screen?
Thanks in advance


Regards
SH
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:41 am     Reply with quote

Look in the CCS code library. Do a search for 'image' or 'bitmap'.
Here's one post. There may be more. Or use Google.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=37200
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:05 am     Reply with quote

Thanks for reply.

SH
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:53 am     Reply with quote

Having set this up on a PCB, connections as shown:-
Code:

PIC______LCD
D1_______RS
D2_______SID
D3_______SCLK
D4_______RST
D5_______CS

As per connections on http://www.techdesign.be/projects/042/042.htm and programmed PIC (18F452) up with the code.
When I power the PIC up I only get a black screen. (All the pixels are black).
If I repeatedly power / shut down the PIC, occasionally I will get part of the original strings for split second, then the screen goes black. It is like the text is printed then the screen fills with black almost immediately.
The screen I am using is this one http://www.craftdata.co.uk/pdf/Bolymin_Graphic_LCD_2009.pdf and has this controller http://www.crystalfontz.com/controllers/DS_S6B1713_R42.pdf.
The screen is 80x32 and not 128x64 as in the website.
I do not know what to do as I have not done a GLCD before, I have checked the initiation strings and all seem to be the same (the controllers are compatible).
Any help will be most appreciated.

TIA
SH
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:35 pm     Reply with quote

Sample code:
http://www.crystalfontz.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5123
http://www.avrfreaks.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&p=423534
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:23 am     Reply with quote

Ahah,
I will try this today. Thanks a lot, lots of info on second page!!
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:51 am     Reply with quote

Agh,
Something is not working now. The GLCD does not respond anymore!! I cannot even get the black screen up!!

I must have caused something to go wrong?
SH

Just realised the code here:- http://www.avrfreaks.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&p=423534 is not for serial mode, i.e. it is in parallel mode. I am running the screen in serial mode. I need code for serial mode.
Thanks
SH
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:55 am     Reply with quote

After putting the values in from http://www.crystalfontz.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5123 here;
0xA0
0xC0
0xA2
0x2F

0x26
0x81
0x20

the screen goes completely black!! I have tried many different combinations but I cannot get the screen to respond.
What am I likely to see when I use the LCD_display() command in the post from lun on crystalfontz forum??

What can be wrong with the screen??
TIA
SH
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:58 am     Reply with quote

After persevering for a long time I have managed to get a feint block on the screen now. Not a solid black one but a feint grey area.
The settings that I have used are:
(Called in LCD Init)
ADC - 0xa0
SHL - 0xc0
LCD Bias - 0xA2

VC - 0x2C
VR - 0x2E
VF - 0x2F

Resistor Reg - 0x23
Ref Voltage Select - 0x81
Ref Voltage Select - 0x22
Initial Dis Line - 0x40
display on - 0xaf

But when I use the 042_v01.C code and try the dt_lcd_gotoxy(x,y) The screen clears itself and nothing is displayed.
I am now trying to set the screen to display something by using the dt_lcd_write_dorc(command) function.
Code:

dt_cs = 0;
dt_rs = 1;
dt_lcd_write_dorc(0x10);  // set column MSB
dt_cs = 1

dt_cs = 0;
dt_rs = 1;
dt_lcd_write_dorc(0x00);  // set column LSB
dt_cs = 1

dt_cs = 0;
dt_rs = 1;
dt_lcd_write_dorc(0xB0);  // set page
dt_cs = 1

dt_cs = 0;
dt_rs = 1;
dt_lcd_write_dorc(0x3E);  // write data
dt_cs = 1

dt_cs = 0;
dt_rs = 1;
dt_lcd_write_dorc(0x00);  // write data
dt_cs = 1


Should this work?? Should I see something on the screen?
Regards SH
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:37 am     Reply with quote

I know I can write commands to the screen because I am able to change the contrast of the rectangle that is displayed. But I cannot send data to the screen.
I have set the initial line to 0x40, set the MSB for column to 0x10 and LSB to 0x00. Then sent data to the screen, I am using this function:-
Code:
dt_lcd_write_data(0xF0);
dt_lcd_write_command(0xAF);   //Turn on screen

But I get nothing on the screen. I have looped this 7 times to see if the data is of the screen but still nothing.

After initialising the screen should I see the (depending on shade) rectangle (some settings make it grey some make it black and some make it hardly appear).

Do I need to initialise anything else before I can see the data?
TIA
SH
sjharris



Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 78

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:44 am     Reply with quote

OK, so now I have put a scope on the Data and RS lines. I know that the data is being clocked into the LCD and that the RS is correct, low for command high for data. I see this happening on the screen.
But I still cannot see anything on the screen!!
I try to initialise the screen to Page = 0, address = 0 and initial line = 0
Code:

dt_lcd_write_command(0x40);    //Inital line
dt_lcd_write_command(0xB0);    //Page address
dt_lcd_write_command(0x10);    //Column address MSB
dt_lcd_write_command(0x00);    //Column address LSB

This should initialise to position 0, 0 shouldnt it?
Why wont this work??

TIA
SH
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group