View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Hans Wedemeyer
Joined: 15 Sep 2003 Posts: 226
|
|
|
Martin Berriman
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 66 Location: UK
|
|
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:50 pm |
|
|
Very useful Hans, thanks. |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:58 am |
|
|
Thanks Hans
Does this mean that i can run CCS from within Visual Studio C++?
i have always used MPLAB
Please advise |
|
|
Martin Berriman
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 66 Location: UK
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:01 pm |
|
|
Anonymous wrote: | Does this mean that i can run CCS from within Visual Studio C++? i have always used MPLAB Please advise |
It means that you can use VS C++ as your IDE to write and edit code (this is nice as the IDE is powerful and works), then call ccsc.exe to compile your code.
Normally if you do this, ccsc will generate a file called ????.err which will be displayed in the VS output window at the end of compilation. That is nice however if you click on any of the displayed error or warning messages, the VS IDE will NOT take you to the source file and line that has the error because it does not understand the format the ccsc emits.
The program that Hans has put together translates the ????.err file into a format that VS does understand and therefore when VS shows the messages in the output window, you can then click on them to get VS to take you directly to the source file and line that has the problem. Nice simple solution. |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:20 pm |
|
|
Thanks for that as i was thinking of getting ccs ide
While we are on this subject , what can i use to simulate my programs
so i can see the program variables changing values etc
Thank you |
|
|
davekelly
Joined: 04 Oct 2006 Posts: 53 Location: Berkshire, England
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:46 am |
|
|
MPLAB works fine with the CCS compiler, for editing, compiling, locating errors, simulating, and using the Microchip ICD |
|
|
tavioman
Joined: 22 Feb 2006 Posts: 65
|
Writing CCS Code in Visual Studio's IDE |
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:37 am |
|
|
Hi all!
I may be off topic but I need some help.
My question is, how can I write CCS Code into VS IDE?
What settings do I need to make?
Thanks! |
|
|
Martin Berriman
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 66 Location: UK
|
Re: Writing CCS Code in Visual Studio's IDE |
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:48 am |
|
|
tavioman wrote: | What settings do I need to make?
Thanks! |
Start VS C++ 2005.
Click File|New|Project
Select 'MakeFile Project' and enter a name and location
The Makefile Application Wizard should open
Click 'Next'
In the command line box, enter the path to the CCSC compiler and the command line parameters (e.g. "C:\Program Files\PICC3\ccsc" +FH +PE +STDOUT +EA main.c) where main.c is the file that contains main() function
Add your source files and header files as you normally would in VS
When you want to compile, select Build Solution - VS will invoke the CCSC.exe compiler. |
|
|
tavioman
Joined: 22 Feb 2006 Posts: 65
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 am |
|
|
Thanks! |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:06 pm |
|
|
Hi Guys
Sorry to jump in at the deep end but just wanted to know
if i can run ccs from Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0
Regard
Tema |
|
|
Martin Berriman
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 66 Location: UK
|
|
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:50 am |
|
|
Anonymous wrote: | Sorry to jump in at the deep end but just wanted to know if i can run ccs from Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 |
Yep. You just need to set the nmake command line for the options you want to pass to CCSC compiler. Don't have VS6 installed at the moment so can't give step by step instructions. Alternatively you could simply configure ccsc as an external tool and attach it to a button on the toolbar. |
|
|
|