CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Running PIC w/o ICD

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kender



Joined: 09 Aug 2004
Posts: 768
Location: Silicon Valley

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger

Running PIC w/o ICD
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:04 pm     Reply with quote

Colleagues,

I can't download the program into the PIC for standalone operation w/o ICD. Here are my fuses:

Code:

#include <18F452.h>
// #device ICD=TRUE  release version
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=40000000)
#fuses NOWDT,WDT128,H4, NOPROTECT, NOOSCSEN, BROWNOUT, BORV20, NOPUT, STVREN, NODEBUG, LVP, NOWRT, NOWRTD, NOWRTB, NOWRTC, NOCPD, NOCPB, NOEBTR, NOEBTRB // release version
#use rs232(baud=57600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8,stream=HOSTPC)   // communication w/ host PC
#use rs232(baud=19200,parity=N,xmit=PIN_D4,bits=8,stream=LCD_XMIT)            // by default LCD is listening at 19.kbaud
// #use rs232(DEBUGGER,stream=DEBUG) release version                                             // debug output through ICD
#use i2c(Master,Slow,sda=PIN_C4,scl=PIN_C3,force_hw)


What am I doing incorrectly? (Similar fuse settings used to fork for my previous projects.)

Thanks,
Nick
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:51 pm     Reply with quote

1. First, change LVP in your #fuses statement to NOLVP.

2. In MPLAB, go to the Project/Build Options menu and "un-check"
the box that says "Compile for use with ICD Debugger".

Then compile the file.

Then go to the Programmer menu in MPLAB (not the Debugger menu)
and select "Erase Part". Then select "Program".

See if the program runs OK.

Hopefully, that will work.
daveroll
Guest







old icd
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:40 pm     Reply with quote

the old icd is no longer supported by mplab 6.00+ you must use ccs debug enviroment if you want to debug. to program using the icd you can use ccs icd-s software.
Matt Carvey



Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Boston, MA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:58 pm     Reply with quote

I actually had this problem and found something that seems to work. In the CCS IDE I closed the debug window, removed #device ICD=TRUE, compiled the program, and then went to Tools>ICD. It then gave me a message about erasing the chip, and programs seem to work w/o the ICD. This was with the 18f452 development board. On an older version of CCS IDE with the 16f877a and my own board I could reprogram the chip by compiling with the debug window open but I couldn't get this to work.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group