CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug Reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

CCS Debugger with Microchip ICD2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> CCS ICD / Mach X / Load-n-Go
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vleiswal



Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Kimberley, South Africa

View user's profile Send private message

CCS Debugger with Microchip ICD2
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 10:58 am     Reply with quote

I need help in using a Microchip ICD 2 (on USB) from the CCS compiler front end.

What s/w do I need?

It keeps telling me the h/w NOT FOUND.

Thanx
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20399

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:59 pm     Reply with quote

If you have the Microchip ICD2, you should use MPLAB software.
The latest version is v6.60. Download it from the Microchip website.
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en019469&part=SW007002
vleiswal



Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Kimberley, South Africa

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 2:41 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks...... it is working fine in MPLab, however, would like to get it working in CCS also.

Is it possible?
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 10:25 pm     Reply with quote

It is possible to install CCS compiler to work with MPLAB. Get the plugin from CCS's site under their downloads.
vleiswal



Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Kimberley, South Africa

View user's profile Send private message

Microchip ICD2
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:38 am     Reply with quote

MPLab and CCS working fine!!! Driver loaded and using debugger in MPLab

However, would like to use CCS debugger with MPLab ICD 2. Is this possible?

Thanx
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:56 am     Reply with quote

From CCS's website
Quote:

CCS provides a high level debugger for the Microchip PICŪ line of microcontrollers. This debugger is included with PCW, CCS's C Compiler with Windows IDE, and requires an ICD unit (Microchip MPLABŪ-ICD1, CCS ICD-S40 or CCS ICD-U40) connected to a flash PIC series microcrontroller that is capable of debugging (such as the PIC16F87x or PIC18Fxx2). Future support will include other emulator and debugging hardware and the dsPICŪ line of microcontrollers.


No ICD-2 at this time
vleiswal



Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Kimberley, South Africa

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:46 pm     Reply with quote

Thanxs Mark!!

Perhaps CCS can let us know when their debugger will work with Microchip ICD2....
Wink
pic my brain
Guest







PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 2:43 pm     Reply with quote

I also would like to know when they add support for the ICD-2.
I really don't like the MPLAB environment.
I do like the CCS environment but it's useless without support for the ICD-2.
It would also be nice if CCS would document some of the canned functions such as 'SETUP_POWER_PWM()' for the 18F2331.
I can't seem to get it to work. Keeps giving a 'comma expected' error!
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 20399

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:11 am     Reply with quote

Quote:
It would also be nice if CCS would document some of the canned
functions such as 'SETUP_POWER_PWM()' for the 18F2331

See this post:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20348&highlight=setuppowerpwm
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:40 am     Reply with quote

Also always check the help file in the software directory. It is the manual and is usually pretty up to date.
smashHIT



Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 14

View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:49 pm     Reply with quote

If a get my self an ICD2 I won't be able to use it within CCS IDE, right? But will I be able to use it within MPLAB with the CCS plugin? I mean, so I can debug CCS c-code in MPLAB.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> CCS ICD / Mach X / Load-n-Go All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group