CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

On-Screen Display

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jeprox

On-Screen Display
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:19 pm     Reply with quote

As far as video goes, I'm a novice.

I'm looking at designing an On-screen Display OSD). I've seen on the wed PIC-based products for sale. It talks about this board overlaying some data "onto incoming PAL or NTSC video source."

Pardon me with this silly question, but if I have a monitor, what equipment does provide this video source? How is this video source connected and also, how is the OSD connected to the monitor? Which of the connectors at the back of the monitor does it go? Basically, which unit connects to which?

Those who have designed a PIC-based OSD, perhaps share your expert advice.

Thanks.
Ttelmah

Re: On-Screen Display
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 3:22 am     Reply with quote

Jeprox wrote:
As far as video goes, I'm a novice.

I'm looking at designing an On-screen Display OSD). I've seen on the wed PIC-based products for sale. It talks about this board overlaying some data "onto incoming PAL or NTSC video source."

Pardon me with this silly question, but if I have a monitor, what equipment does provide this video source? How is this video source connected and also, how is the OSD connected to the monitor? Which of the connectors at the back of the monitor does it go? Basically, which unit connects to which?

Those who have designed a PIC-based OSD, perhaps share your expert advice.

Thanks.

The OSD discussions you have seen, referring to PAL, and NTSC, are dealing with 'composite video'.