CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

can't create stand alone programs for the 16F877A

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sapy44

can't create stand alone programs for the 16F877A
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 1:59 pm     Reply with quote

Hello again all,

I'm new to PIC programming abd have run into a snag. I was working through the exercise booklet that comes with the CCS beginers development kit.

It seems to be that by removing the #device ICD=TRUE statement, the complier will generate the program as a stand alone program. No ICD required to start the program, it should just run after a reset.

So when I remove this statement from the program header, it seems the program runs up to the first line of C code and then stops. I've verified this by changing the first line of code to light up the different color LEDs. In each case it lit up the LED, but then locked up.

I've also noticed that even though the ICD is not supposed to be fuctioning I can still use it to start and stop the program succesfully after reconnecting it.

Have any of you had a similar problem ? What do you all think might the problem, and how would you suggest I fix it ? Any inputs would be appreciated.
jj

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 9:53 am     Reply with quote

Do you have the correct oscillator options set for your stand alone board?
Also have you tied MCLR up to Vdd.
sapy44

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:26 pm     Reply with quote

Yes my clock settings are correct. The MCLR pin is held hight through an onboard pull-up. The issue probably lies in the compilier. Any thoughts ?[/quote]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:33 am     Reply with quote