CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Sample and Hold

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Frank-Y

Sample and Hold
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 2:34 am     Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I'm new to C programing and embedded systems. I have a task that I would like help with if anyone can help please!

I want to know how to sample and hold an analogue 43khz signal, 7.6 pk-pk, 2.8 amplitude and monitor it until it changes, maybe store the A/D reading in an array. If it goes out of range to change the signal back into the 43khz signal. Also, be able to display this on a lcd screen.

I'm using a PIC16f1519 at 40MHZ clock frequency.

Thanks Smile
Ttelmah

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 4:05 am     Reply with quote

It is going to be very hard to do this with the PIC you are suggesting.
In fact impossible.
A signal at 43KHz, would require sampling at least at 86000 times per
second. So sampling at just 12uSec. The ADC in the PIC you are talking
about cannot do this. It takes 12uSec minimum for a complete conversion,
and then requires just on 4.5uSec acquisition time to reload the internal
sample and hold. So a fastest possible sample rate of about 60KHz.
So this ADC cannot do the sampling at the rate you would need.
temtronic

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 4:44 am     Reply with quote

re:
Quote:
If it goes out of range...

Hmm, what goes 'out of range' ? The frequency (43KHz) or the amplitude (2.8). Amplitude is always changing....though the frequency should be stable.
You can measure the frequency, once you have a 0-5V DC wave.