View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Michel Kozah
Joined: 21 Jun 2013 Posts: 7
|
Sigfox IOT |
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:09 am |
|
|
Hi guys, I have a new project, and I am obliged to use Sigfox.
I don't how to send command via Sigfox, can anyone help me.
Thank you. _________________ Mich Koz |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19477
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:34 am |
|
|
You need to know what particular network is involved as well. There are
multiple different SigFox networks in different countries.
Some of the newer IOT chipsets support one or more of these as well
as things like LoRa.
The quickest way will be an off the shelf module. Start here:
[url]
https://partners.sigfox.com/products/module
[/url]
The PyCom SiPy module is very nice, but you are going to be facing a
lot of programming. This is available in two different power versions
according to what part of the world you are in. This can be connected by
I2C, SPI, or using a basic UART.
All the modules I know of, are 3.3v. So you need to be selecting a 3.3v PIC
for simplicity. The SiPy uses a 5v supply, but the signalling voltages are
3.3v compatible not 5v. |
|
|
Michel Kozah
Joined: 21 Jun 2013 Posts: 7
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2021 11:27 am |
|
|
Hi again, and thanks for your quick and wonderful reply.
First, the project will be installed in Dubai and yes, if i am not wrong it is things like Lora.
Second, i think i am gonna to use The Adeunis as an interface between my device controller and Sigfox network. ( project manager request ).
i will connect my device to Adeunis via Rs232 or Rs485.
My code is very simple, reading temperature and humidity from AM2301 and sending the values. But which i don't know, what should i send from my slave device, what should be the code (the frame or the packet), to the master device.
Thanks a Lot. _________________ Mich Koz |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19477
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2021 12:11 pm |
|
|
First the device you select will need to be an RC1 type. This covers
Europe and the Middle East.
Then understand this is a network not a point to point device. You'll
probably need to use the Sigfox cloud.
[url]
https://build.sigfox.com/backend-callbacks-and-api
[/url]
You'll probably need to use the Callback API. This allows the server to
retrieve messages from your device.
Follow the callback link on the above page, and then the links on that.
It sounds as if you are probably going to need to create an custom
UPLINK callback.
Get the MKRFOX1200 board for the Arduino and you can then use the
GitHub sigfox.h library for this. This board uses the ATAB8520, and this
is an RC1 compatible device.
There are examples for the Arduino library for this type of callback.
Understand that this is a low data rate service. You will need to check
with the network supplier in Dubai, what rates of data you are allowed
to use. Typically 100 bits per second max.
All the hard work here will be done for you by the Arduino library. |
|
|
Michel Kozah
Joined: 21 Jun 2013 Posts: 7
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2021 12:35 pm |
|
|
Thanks Ttelmah for your time.
I will check all the information and the site you gave to me.
Thanks a Lot _________________ Mich Koz |
|
|
Michel Kozah
Joined: 21 Jun 2013 Posts: 7
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:00 am |
|
|
hi again.
after reviewing those information gave to me. a lot of thing got clear for me.
and i have some questions.
i have to use Modbus RTU, to connect to Adeunis.
My device is a slave device.
1) can i use RS-232? or Modbus RTU is only for RS-485?
2) can i have some tips how to begin sending data.
My slave address = 1
type = Holding register.
Register address = 40001.
data = from 0 to 150.
thanks _________________ Mich Koz |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9215 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:21 am |
|
|
While I don't use it,
I believe MODBUS is based on RS-485 hardware, so no, you can't connect it to a device that has a MAX232 driver chip. It is based on a serial interface.
You can however use a PIC with a MAX485 driver chip and use then code #USE RS232( ...options). This will configure the serial port of the PIC for proper hardware connections.
See the RS485 examples in the examples folder of the CCS compiler on your PC. These are simple, generic programs and drivers that show how to get MODBUS 'up and running'. They are NOT complete MODBUS 'packages' but you can send and receive data from a device. |
|
|
Michel Kozah
Joined: 21 Jun 2013 Posts: 7
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:03 am |
|
|
In the Adeunis (ARF8240CA) datasheet, they mention that is a RTU Modbus.
and this Adeunis device can support Rs-232 and Rs-485.
So it is a bit confusing, for that reason i asked if is it possible to send RTU modbus messages via RS-232. _________________ Mich Koz |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9215 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 7:24 am |
|
|
Yes it's possible, you'll have to make some minor changes to the CCS MODBUS driver.
By having both RS485 and RS232 on the device, it allows a wider range of customers to use it.
Same as PICs. Most today have UART, I2C and SPI. All 3 are 'serial' communications methods, so everyone can use a PIC !!! |
|
|
|