CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

serial-monitor_
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yarenler



Joined: 05 Jan 2019
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message

serial-monitor_
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:56 am     Reply with quote

The distances between the characters appear on the screen are very wide, so it is difficult to read 8 different values on the screen at the same time.
How to reduce the distance between characters.?
_________________
esen_seher_yeller
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:28 am     Reply with quote

You'll have to post your PIC program that is sending the data to the PC terminal program. It sounds like a simple formatting problem (too many embedded spaces or mybe displaying 8 bit data as 32 bit data).

Jay
yarenler



Joined: 05 Jan 2019
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message

serial-monitor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:52 am     Reply with quote

I provided the communication between the CCS program and the microcontroller with rs-232. How can I reduce the distance between characters when reading data on a ccs serial monitor?

as screenshot https://ibb.co/B6dBkqb
_________________
esen_seher_yeller
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:41 pm     Reply with quote

As I said, we need to see your PIC program and which PC terminal program are you using ? It looks like you're not sending a CR/LF after the data or the terminal prorgam if filtering them. I suspect that the terminal program is not configured correctly.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19195

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:58 am     Reply with quote

Looking at the picture, he is using SIOW.

This will only show what _you_ send it. If you send characters
next to one another they will display next to one another. If you send extra
spaces these will be shown. It looks as if your printout is adding extra
characters. As Temtronic has said, you need to post the code you are using
to print.
It will show extra characters if you are sending characters from the PC as
well, since you have it set to both display the send and the receive at the
same time.
yarenler



Joined: 05 Jan 2019
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message

serial-monitor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:00 am     Reply with quote

I see only the analog inputs on the serial-monitor. I'm not sending any information from the PC. I don't understand why there's a gap between the characters. Unfortunately I don't know about SIOW.
Code:

while(TRUE)
   {
      set_adc_channel(20);      isi=read_adc()*(5.0/1024.0)*100;      printf("\n S-0=%u", isi);    delay_ms(way);
//21
//22
//23
//.....   
      set_adc_channel(27);      isi=read_adc()*(5.0/1024.0)*100;      printf(" S-1=%u\r", isi);      delay_ms(way);



_________________
esen_seher_yeller
dluu13



Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Posts: 395
Location: Toronto, ON

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:33 am     Reply with quote

Seems like your columns are being written very wide. Are you sure some font setting not messed up? It's also strange that all the characters are written but \n is not.

I didn't have issues with siow.exe but have you tried another terminal program?
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:37 am     Reply with quote

Another guy has same problem, I suggested Realterm and it works fine ! I suspect it's a 'setup' of 'default' problem with SIOW, though I've never used it.
I also wondered about what the variable 'isi' was ? %u is for an unsigned 8 bit value.
dluu13



Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Posts: 395
Location: Toronto, ON

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

realterm
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:42 am     Reply with quote

I use Realterm myself, and it works well. Besides that, if you have long output, it scrolls off the page and there's no scroll bar. You can get it back by dragging with the mouse, but subsequent output overwrites stuff and it's kind of messy.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9081
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:55 am     Reply with quote

The solution is to 'save to file' as well as display on screen. I had 4 months of data saved to a file for a datalogger project. 8 sensors, every 15 seconds. By sending it in CSV format, Excel automatically opened the file and correctly displayed the data.
Jay
dluu13



Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Posts: 395
Location: Toronto, ON

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:03 am     Reply with quote

Ah, that's the Capture function. Thanks for that tip, it looks handy.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19195

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:09 am     Reply with quote

I think he needs to turn off the 'ASCII send' button.

Currently it'll show a space for each output character, as well as the
input characters. Result double spacing....
dluu13



Joined: 28 Sep 2018
Posts: 395
Location: Toronto, ON

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:11 am     Reply with quote

But he says he's not sending stuff from the PC. The terminal is only listening.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19195

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:09 pm     Reply with quote

In his picture the ASCII send button is also selected.
If you have this selected, the program outputs one character from the
receive, followed by one from the transmit (even if one isn't avalable).
Result double spacing....
yarenler



Joined: 05 Jan 2019
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message

serial-monitor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:45 am     Reply with quote

Temtronic, I found out that my problem is due to the history of the siow.exe file. The file date 2013. The current version of the siow.exe file has returned to normal when it loads.
_________________
esen_seher_yeller
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group