CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Need Help on RC Servo Ramp (speed)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
arawana

Need Help on RC Servo Ramp (speed)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:19 pm     Reply with quote

Hi, all CCS member and Happy new year!!

I am a student at Singapore, I got a project about controlling 16 RCservo motors on PORTB & PORTC. Currently I am using 16F877A & 20MHz. I can control position but my problem now is how to control RC servo speed (ramp)?

Can PIC16F877A do a ramp program? Using which PIN? CCP? T0M1L Or T1M1L? Or it can only be done using DSPIC

Can anyone teach me the theory behind or could you just give me reference book or website. I have been searching on internet but cannot find it.

Thank you very much for your time and it is a big help if anyone can share some knowledge with me.
Ttelmah

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:02 am     Reply with quote

The ramp won't involve a pin.
It will be down to how _you_ control your pulse widths.

For instance. You have a servo at one end of it's travel, with a pulse coming to it,of perhaps 0.6mSec. You want to move it to the other end of it's travel, so you change the pulse to 2.4mSec. The servo will move as fast as it can to this new position.
If instead, you change the pulse to 0.7mSec, count 100 loops of the servo pulse code, change it to 0.8mSec, count another 100 loops, and do this till the value reaches 2.4mSec, the servo will now take 1700+ cycles of your code, to move the distance.