CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Can-bus, 18F2580+MCP2551. Loopback ok, real can not working.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:45 am     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
I'll get a couple of 18F2580's and test it. It should work. I don't know
why it doesn't work for you. I won't have an answer until the middle
of next week.


More observations:

I followed data signal from pic1 to pic2 with oscilloscope.
Oscilloscope shows data reaching pic2 but it does not cause anything in BnCON or RXBnCON registers.

So it looks like problem is not in between board 2 MCP2551 and PIC at all. Looks like problem is in board 2 PIC.

I checked the errata for silicon version I am using and there is nothing about CAN/ECAN. I am starting to believe that this is a sw problem after all.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:22 pm     Reply with quote

Do you make local copies of the CCS CAN driver files (.c and .h)
and put them in your project directory ?

If you did, when you installed the new compiler, you would still be
using the old drivers, left over from your previous compiler version.

Make sure you're not accidently doing this.
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:26 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
Do you make local copies of the CCS CAN driver files (.c and .h)
and put them in your project directory ?

If you did, when you installed the new compiler, you would still be
using the old drivers, left over from your previous compiler version.

Make sure you're not accidently doing this.


I never make local copies because it causes problems when updating tools.
And I also checked this to be sure. Wink
I don't have local copies of driver files.

Hardware issues are now confirmed not to be the cause of this problem. I bought another probe for my scope and now I can see PIC2 has exactly the same signal in RX pin what PIC1 sends.

"Screenshot" from scope screen.

So situation this far(my opinion):
- Loopback works = data PIC1 is sending is valid
- Signal in PIC1 Tx is exactly the same than in PIC2 RX

Problem is now officially isolated to PIC2's receiving functions. (Pcm? Do you agree?)
I will continue debugging tomorrow if I manage to escape from backyard work...
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:28 pm     Reply with quote

I will receive the parts to duplicate your hardware, sometime next week.
I can't do too much on it until then.
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:16 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
I will receive the parts to duplicate your hardware, sometime next week.
I can't do too much on it until then.


No problemo, I just post here my observations when I figure out something.
I have some ideas what to check tomorrow but more of that after I have done it.

Everybody have a nice weekend. Smile
shashank27187



Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 13

View user's profile Send private message

SAME HERE :)
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:50 am     Reply with quote

actually.... i am also having the same problem...
I am using PIC 18f2585 for the two CAN nodes..

i have used pull ups and the termination resistors as well in the boards..
I used prototyping boards of CCS for CAN last week and got it done.... the programs worked very well.

The same programs after the desired modifications when used with pic 18f2585 gives problems.

The scope says that the receiver end does not receive anything and hence the program does not go inside the "can_kbhit()" part. My code is similar to the one posted here. The CANRX pin remains idle in the receiver whereas the transmitter actively keeps on sending the data.(these boards are connected to RS232 and are monitored in PC).

I think that the problem lies in the connection of the transceivers via CAN bus. I have used mcp2551 as well. Could you just let us know if we have done any mistake in the connection of transceivers, just tell us the best possible connection diagram or fwd the link pls.

I appreciate any valuable suggestions.

Thanks
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

Re: SAME HERE :)
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:28 pm     Reply with quote

shashank27187 wrote:
actually.... i am also having the same problem...
I am using PIC 18f2585 for the two CAN nodes..

I think that the problem lies in the connection of the transceivers via CAN bus. I have used mcp2551 as well. Could you just let us know if we have done any mistake in the connection of transceivers, just tell us the best possible connection diagram or fwd the link pls.


In my case I don't think problem is in HW.
I captured data in PIC1's CANTX-pin and PIC2's CANRX-pin and they are identical.

I have been trying to "encrypt" said data with Bosch CAN specification v2.0 but no luck so far.
Either PIC1 sends some garbage (and PIC2 does not understand it, explaining why there is nothing in Rx buffers) or my capturing adds random bits there. Question

Here is the schema of my connection. There is no mclr-circuit or filter caps in power pins but I think the connection between PIC and 2551 is ok.
My connection.

PCM programmer may have a different opinion when he gets back to this thread. Now we can just wait. Smile
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:13 pm     Reply with quote

I built the circuits, compiled it with PCH vs. 4.099, and it all works
perfectly. I modified my two PicDem2-Plus boards to add sockets
for MCP2551 chips (with 120 ohm termination resistors). I have a
3-pin, 12 inch (30.5 cm) cable connected between the two boards
with wires for CANH, CANL, and GND. I have the Rs pin on each
MCP2551 connected to ground. The Vref pin is unconnected.

To test it, I started up a terminal program such as TeraTerm and typed in
some text (random asdf, followed by Hello There). It all works.
Quote:
asdfasdfadsffas Hello there


Here's the code. This is the same as in the original post,
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=29627&start=6
except that the #include for the driver was changed to can-18F4580.c
because we are using the 18F2580, which is part of the 18F4580 family.
Code:

#include <18F2580.h>
#fuses HS, NOPROTECT, PUT, BROWNOUT, NOWDT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7, ERRORS)

#include <can-18F4580.c>  // Use correct driver

#define BOARD1_ID  24
#define BOARD2_ID  25

// Uncomment this line to compile code for Board #1.
// Comment it out to compile for Board #2.
#define BOARD1   1   

//======================================
void main()
{
struct rx_stat rxstat;
int32 rx_id;
int32 tx_id;
int8 rx_len;               
int8 buffer[8];

can_init();


#ifdef BOARD1   // For Board #1
while(1)
  {
   buffer[0] = getc();   // Wait for a character

   // Transmit it to board #2.
   can_putd(BOARD2_ID, buffer, 1, 1, 1, 0);

   buffer[0] = 0;   // Clear the buffer byte

   // Wait for the char to be echoed back.
   while(!can_kbhit());

   if(can_getd(rx_id, buffer, rx_len, rxstat))
     {
      if(rx_id == BOARD1_ID)  // Is it for this board ?
        {
         putc(buffer[0]);  // If so, display the char
        }
      }
  }
#else  // For Board #2
while(1)
  {
   if(can_kbhit())  // Message available ?
     {
      // If so, get the message.
      if(can_getd(rx_id, buffer, rx_len, rxstat))
        {
         if(rx_id == BOARD2_ID)  // Is it for this board ?
           {
            // If so, echo back the character.
            can_putd(BOARD1_ID, buffer, 1, 1, 1, 0);
           }
         }
      }
  }
#endif
 
}

My advice is:

1. Check your connections. Make sure there is a ground wire between
the two boards.

2. Make sure that you really are compiling two versions of the code,
one for Board #1 and another for Board #2. To compile for #1,
you use this line:
Quote:
#define BOARD1 1

To compile for #2, you use this line:
Quote:
// #define BOARD1 1

Note that it's commented out for #2. The #define is not changed in any
way, except that it's commented out. It's not changed to '2', or 'FALSE'
or anything like that.

3. Final suggestion: Do it exactly like this, with the RS-232 terminal
for input and output. Don't use a debugger. Don't use a simulator.
Don't single-step through it or use breakpoints. Just run it.
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:24 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:

My advice is:

1. Check your connections. Make sure there is a ground wire between
the two boards.

2. Make sure that you really are compiling two versions of the code,
one for Board #1 and another for Board #2. To compile for #1,
you use this line:
Quote:
#define BOARD1 1

To compile for #2, you use this line:
Quote:
// #define BOARD1 1

Note that it's commented out for #2. The #define is not changed in any
way, except that it's commented out. It's not changed to '2', or 'FALSE'
or anything like that.

3. Final suggestion: Do it exactly like this, with the RS-232 terminal
for input and output. Don't use a debugger. Don't use a simulator.
Don't single-step through it or use breakpoints. Just run it.


1: Check

2: Check

3: Heh... I just realized I don't have serial port in any of my PCs(laptops). I guess I need to buy some kind of adapter for that.

In the meanwhile:
If I change the board #1 program slightly

Code:
 buffer[0] = getc();   // Wait for a character

Changed to
Code:
delay_ms(1000);
buffer[0] = 'x';


and
Code:
putc(buffer[0]);  // If so, display the char

changed to
Code:
printf("%c",buffer[0]);


With those changes board #1 sends character 'x' once a second and if board #2 responds, prints reply to serial LCD.

This should work too, right?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:31 pm     Reply with quote

Get a USB to RS232 adapter for your laptop. Example:
http://siig.com/ViewProduct.aspx?pn=JU-CB1S12-S3
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:43 am     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
Get a USB to RS232 adapter for your laptop. Example:
http://siig.com/ViewProduct.aspx?pn=JU-CB1S12-S3


I tested this with USB-serial-adapter I found behind my mythtv-box. Cool

If I test with both boards: nothing

If I put board#1 to loopback mode: nothing.

If I modify board#1 code so that it sends character to serial TX every time it receives character to serial RX, I get characters to terminal screen --> connection between PC and PIC works.

PCM: Can you post the schematics of your test circuit? Question
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:06 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:

Can you post the schematics of your test circuit?

It's the same as your schematic, except that I don't use a resistor on
the Rs pins. They are connected to ground.
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 10:12 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:

It's the same as your schematic, except that I don't use a resistor on
the Rs pins. They are connected to ground.


So now our circuits are identical.

There must be something wrong in board#1 because loopback did not work.
I switched boards and now loopback works. Sort of.

Terminal (PC) sends character 'a' (0x61) to board, board sees it as 'O' (0x4F) and sends it to CAN loopback where putc-function sends it back to PC.
PC shows character 'X' (0x58).

PC terminal sw is using 9600 8N1, as well is Pic.

Can someone explain this to me?

I will build yet another board tomorrow and continue with it.

Edit: I just built a null-modem cable and verified connection between two PCs. Works just fine, all sent characters are received as expected.
Problem is not in PC side. Interesting.

Edit2:

When using just this simple loop:
Code:
while(1)
  {
   buffer[0] = getc();   // Wait for a character

   putc(buffer[0]);
}

Sending 'a' from PC terminal produces 'X' to terminal.

Usually this kind of behaviour is caused by baudrate mismatch between devices but I don't think it is the case this time. I tested changing baudrates in terminal side and in PIC-side. No effect.

Definition in 18F2580.c line 105 says:
Code:
#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7)

Baudrate is 9600 and I suppose other parameters are 8-N-1 if they are not defined there?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:08 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
When using just this simple loop:

while(1)
{
buffer[0] = getc(); // Wait for a character

putc(buffer[0]);
}

Sending 'a' from PC terminal produces 'X' to terminal.

Post your complete test program, which has the code shown above in it.
Post the compiler version that you are using.
Post a description of your RS232 hardware on your board.
i.e., Are you using a Max232A or similar type of chip ?
halibatsuiba



Joined: 12 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:59 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:

Post your complete test program, which has the code shown above in it.
Post the compiler version that you are using.
Post a description of your RS232 hardware on your board.
i.e., Are you using a Max232A or similar type of chip ?


It is your test code with this modification:
Code:

#include <18F2580.h>
#fuses HS, NOPROTECT, PUT, BROWNOUT, NOWDT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock=20000000)
//#use rs232(baud=115200,xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7,ERRORS)

#include <can-18F4580.c>  // Use correct driver

#define BOARD1_ID  24
#define BOARD2_ID  25

// Uncomment this line to compile code for Board #1.
// Comment it out to compile for Board #2.
#define BOARD1   1   

//======================================
void main()
{
struct rx_stat rxstat;
int32 rx_id;
int32 tx_id;
int8 rx_len;               
int8 buffer[8];

can_init();
//can_set_mode(CAN_OP_LOOPBACK);
printf("Starttaillaan...");

#ifdef BOARD1   // For Board #1
while(1)
  {
   buffer[0] = getc();   // Wait for a character
   putc(buffer[0]);
  }/*

   // Transmit it to board #2.
   can_putd(BOARD2_ID, buffer, 1, 1, 1, 0);

   buffer[0] = 0;   // Clear the buffer byte

   // Wait for the char to be echoed back.
   while(!can_kbhit());

   if(can_getd(rx_id, buffer, rx_len, rxstat))
     {
      if(rx_id == BOARD1_ID)  // Is it for this board ?
        {
         putc(buffer[0]);  // If so, display the char
        }
      }
  }*/
#else  // For Board #2
while(1)
  {
   if(can_kbhit())  // Message available ?
     {
      // If so, get the message.
      if(can_getd(rx_id, buffer, rx_len, rxstat))
        {
         if(rx_id == BOARD2_ID)  // Is it for this board ?
           {
            // If so, echo back the character.
            can_putd(BOARD1_ID, buffer, 1, 1, 1, 0);
           }
         }
      }
  }
#endif
 
}


Compiler version:
halibatsuiba wrote:

Allright. Now I have PCH version 4.099 but...


Circuit is the same what you have, and now I have Rs tied to ground too.


PCM programmer wrote:

It's the same as your schematic, except that I don't use a resistor on
the Rs pins. They are connected to ground.


About RS232 hw: I replaced MAX232 in my circuit and now code above echoes everything back properly. Looks like I had defective MAX232.

If I set Board #1 to loopback mode, everything is echoed back to terminal as well.

Still nothing if I try to communicate with board #2 over CAN.
I rebuilt board #2 with all new components.

Debugging continues... Cool
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group