CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Generate 38KHz frequency signal using 16F877A

View previous topic :: View next topic  
aruna1

Generate 38KHz frequency signal using 16F877A
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:14 pm     Reply with quote

Hi guys can some one tell me how to generate 38KHz signal using 16F877A ?

I'm making an IR obstacle detector for my robot. I have a TSOP1738 and I need to give 38KHz IR signal to operate it. So I would like to know how to generate this signal using 16F877A.

Please tell me how to do it using 16F877A with 4MHz crystal. (without using PWM pins, I need 2 PWM pins to control motors.)

But I have no idea how to do this. I'm new to PIC programming.

So can someone help me.
many thanks Question
SherpaDoug

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:53 am     Reply with quote

38kHz with just software and a 4MHz clock is going to keep your PIC REAL busy. It better not have much else to do!
The brute force way is with a loop and delay statements, but interrupts for other functions will cause bumps in your waveform.
The next way is to use a timer that interrupts on overflow. When you get the interrupt reset the timer and toggle the output.
The most elegant way, but probably too computationally intensive for 38kHz, is to make an interrupt driven "numerically controlled oscillator" which can produce any precise frequency. Google will get you some good info on NCOs. I wrote one years ago for a 16C58 running at 20MHZ and it could barely cover 24kHz to 30kHz.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:03 am     Reply with quote

SherpaDoug wrote: