CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

simple communication using PIC16F84A

View previous topic :: View next topic  
beechler

simple communication using PIC16F84A
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:34 pm     Reply with quote

Hello all,

I am a first time PIC programmer but long time coder trying to use the PIC16F84A chip to achieve a simple transmission goal.

In essence I am trying to allow for simple communication using two chips in a master/slave design. After much research concerning C coding for the chip and supported functions, it obviously seems that the i2c conventions would be the best way to go concerning any real implementations. I have analyzed a lot of sample code (including some samples from this very forum) and am wondering if anyone has any good sources of general information regarding said topic (especially when it comes to actually wiring this up, as I mentioned I am a long time coder - but admitedly first time circuit designer Embarassed )

My very first goal is to try and transmit from one chip to another a simple 8 bit binary number which, when received by the second (slave) chip will cause the second chip to display the number as a lit LED sequence (proof positive my actual desired number was sent).

Simple, I know, but I am hoping that with success on this first project I can take what I learn to more exciting arenas.

thanx in advance for any information you can offer this newbie Laughing ,
beechler
Neutone

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 12:57 pm     Reply with quote