CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

PIC18F14K50 - USB clarification required

View previous topic :: View next topic  
benoitstjean

PIC18F14K50 - USB clarification required
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:27 pm     Reply with quote

Compiler: 5.026
Device: PIC18F14K50

Hi guys, for now, this is mainly a pure PIC question but it'll probably lead to CCS USB questions when I get there.

This is my first try at USB on a PIC so please bear with me. I have a little dev board with a 18F14K50.

I'm going through the PIC documentation and what I want to do is be able to power-up the device from an external source but also via USB. In both instances, the entire circuit will be powered via 5V: the external power will have a 5V regulator otherwise the USB port will provide 5V to the circuit. The USB will also be used to flash the device with a new firmware using a bootloader that will be previously programmed on the device.

My question:

On page 243 section 22.2.2.1 <Internal transceiver>, the third paragraph states "The internal USB transceiver obtains power from the VUSB pin [...] VUSB must be supplied with a voltage source between 3.0V and 3.6V".

In the docs DS40001350F page 262, figure 22-11 <Dual power example>, the VUSB pin is tied to a cap to GND. In the few schematic examples I found online, the USB does not appear to be used.

So why does one page say that VUSB must be supplied with a voltage source but page 262 shows a cap tied to GND?

Any pointers appreciated.

Thanks!

Ben
temtronic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:04 am     Reply with quote

Deja vu , I think....