CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

ublox eva-7m issue

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mike Fannin

ublox eva-7m issue
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 10:21 am     Reply with quote

All, I started programming 40 plus years ago but have been away from it for sometime. I am catching up fairly quickly but having some issues supporting a particular hardware product (ublox EVA-7M). I am having issues trying to obtain a Fix. I am monitoring it with U-center and find that it identifies 12+ satellites 20+ db levels but I never get get a fix. I am using the UBX protocol.
Any suggestions will be very much appreciated.

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 10:52 am     Reply with quote

The forum is really meant to be for CCS C problems.
However assuming you are intending to use CCS to talk to it in the future, you are aware of just how slow the initial fix may be, especially if you don't have the GNSS operating?.
If (for instance), where you are attempting to use the unit, has poor coverage for the GPS, and no network connectivity, a fix may be impossible. Unfortunately, comparing with something like a phone, which will already have an almanac will make you think that the unit is not working...
Mike Fannin

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 11:10 am     Reply with quote

I understand. However, my neighbor has a GPS solution that delivers a Fix within 10-15 seconds. I figured if the unit can see 12+ Satellites at a level of 20+ dB's that I should be able to obtain a Fix. Therefore, I naturally figured that I must be doing something wrong. Just trying to identify if I may have implemented something wrong or not at all.